Brother Rice Announces 2018-19 Illinois State Scholars

Brother Rice President Dr. Kevin Burns and Principal James Antos are pleased to announce that 30 Brother Rice students from the graduating class of 2018 have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars.

The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the state agency committed to helping to make college accessible and affordable for Illinois families, confers this prestigious recognition to top Illinois high school students annually. This year, more than 20,000 outstanding honorees join the other top students who have been honored for their academic achievements since the designation was first introduced in 1958.

Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors from 738 high schools across the state. Illinois State Scholars possess strong academic potential and are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank.

Congratulations to the following Brother Rice 2018-19 Illinois State Scholars: Nicholas Bowes – St. Damian; Samuel Broad – Christ the King; Daniel Caulfield – St. John Fisher; Brendan Coghlan – Jerling Jr. High/Orland; Andres Fernandez – St. Bede; James Foley – St. Louis DeMontfort; Cole Geinosky – St. Albert the Great; Richard Godsel – St. Gerald; Brendan Hosty – St. Gerald; Ruben Jimenez – St. John Fisher; Keegan Jones – St. Cyril & Methodius; Samuel Jones – Timothy Christian; Ryan Kenny – St. Linus; Sean Kirchman – St. Albert the Great; Thomas Kleist – Christ the King; Joseph Kresic – St. Gerald; Jacob Marquez – Oak Lawn/Hometown Middle School; Jack McBrearty – Most Holy Redeemer; Matthew McCormick – Christ the King; Joshua Moro – Prairie Junior High/Alsip; Matthew Papiernik – St. Cyril & Methodius; Nicolas Perez – St. Symphorosa; Thomas Phelan – St. Catherine of Alexandria; Grant Sibley – Incarnation; Jonathan Somers – St. Christina; Evan Sullivan – St. Cyril & Methodius; Anthony Wrobel – Mt. Greenwood School; Vincent Zampillo – Cardinal Bernardin; and Charles Zupan – Queen of Martyrs.

Not pictured: Keegan Jones, Jack McBrearty, and Anthony Wrobel.

Comments are closed.